Game Camp Days 3-4: Left For Dead and Painting Boats


NOTE: this is a draft I forgot to post, so it is out of sequence with the others. Sorry!

Today, we were going to run the game rules that LAST year’s camp designed (Zombietown USA which we all decided should be renamed to ANOTHER DAY IN ZOMBIE TOWN to avoid confusion), or design new ones ourselves. However, one of the lads, a chap nicknamed “Paco”, had devised a game already, also with a zombie theme. To me, this is the entire reason I work this gaming camp gig– to provide an outlet for this kind of design creativity. The game rules were called LEFT FOR DEAD based upon the video game. They were far more detailed than the game the kids came up with last year. I gleefully provided a ton of remounted heroclix SWAT team guys, plus a zombie horde of various zombie types. LEFT FOR DEAD was very well received. I have posted pictures of this game on my Facebook Account, under the “Game Camp” Folder. The only problem with throwing Left for Dead was that I ended up throwing a very similar scenario the next day which compressed the schedule. ANOTHER DAY IN ZOMBIE TOWN was less well received, mostly because of the horde summoning mechanic which works better with dice than cards. I replaced the red/blue heroscape dice from last year with a deck of cards as the mechanic (mostly cuz I couldn’t find the heroscape dice). So when a player moved, fired, used grenades, or anything noisy, they rolled a certain number of dice, depending on the actions. This generated the number of cards to draw (red for zombies, black for no-zombies). They got lots of zombies. I could have gone with dice but I threw in the idea of the joker representing “bad things happening” for the person who drew it– player character or zombie. This could mean a gun jamming, a gun running out of ammo, falling down in Melee, or a zombie losing a limb in a fight– it all depended on what was happening when the card was drawn. Anyway, the guys figured out that you had to run and take your chances. Standing and fighting was a bad idea because that generated a horde of zombies. Of course, we had our share of nhilistic kids who WANTED to summon a horde of zombies.. my supply of undead was severely tested by this. In the event, it played all the way through and Garrett, of all people, got to the chopper first.

I was a bit dismayed to see guys quitting out of games right and left when things didn’t go their way. A recurring problem all week long. I tried to lecture about being good sports and sticking with it, but this mostly fell upon deaf ears. I don’t see the reason why a kid has to be competitive. When I’m losing in a game, I make sure the other side can’t count me out of it until they are gnawing on my bleached white skull.

Trying to get the schedule on track, I started UNCHARTED SEAS at lunch time.. but we only just started maneuvering when the buses came to pick everyone up. More on that later.