Taras Bulba! again!


Now here’s a retcon I don’t mind at all. The Russian film industry is burgeoning these days. Thanks to Rusmovies.com I learned of the 1612 movie (about the Polish siege of Moscow). Now I find out from the same source that there is a new version of the legendary Cossack epic by Nikolai Gogol, TARAS BULBA.

Suddenly, he was shorter.  From TARAS BULBA
Suddenly, he was shorter. From TARAS BULBA

I liked the first version filmed in 1962 quite a bit, but it doesn’t age well. Yul Brynner still looks great as the Cossack chieftan but Tony Curtis’ thick Bronx accent always made him laughable in historical roles. Who doesn’t recall “Yonda is da castle of my foddah” which he actually never said, but can easily be imagined??

The new film seems pretty gory, which really isn’t that out of touch with reality when it comes to cossacks.

The teaser awaits