The more things change, the more they stay the same


Back in 2015…

Approximately a year ago, I was driving through West Virginia, when I chanced upon a diner with an old fashioned look to it. In my experience, that’s the kind of place to visit when you are on the road. I stopped in, had a great breakfast, and noticed a cute sign on the wall just opposite me. It said “Faith / Family / Friends” in gold pen, on a block of wood that rested on a little shelf on the wall. It appeared to me like it was designed to rotate:

From one year ago, table under the sign. I won’t name the diner.

“cute”, I reasoned. “But shouldn’t there be a reverse side, with reverse sentiments?

Pondering the Yin and Yang of evil, over coffee, a year ago.

What is the reverse of “Faith / Family / Friends”?

Fortunately, and oddly enough, I had a silver pen marker in my pocket, a year ago, so I executed an opposite side.

It came out very well indeed.

I was pleased with my opposite side, but the rest of the patrons hardly noticed the switch.


It’s 2016, though…

Almost a year later, I’m driving through again. Same place, same table. I look up.. no, someone HAD indeed recognized the incongruity about the paean to Satan and Hobos on the wall of a wholesome diner.

Of course, someone “fixed” it.

27056875935_e10f7103fe[1]

Except…

Are they TRULY back to normal? The back side wasn’t erased, painted over or drawn through. Almost as if the cafe owner was acknowledging life has a dark side along with the light.

There. Lurking on the dark side of the cube was SATAN / HOBOS again. When nobody was watching, I flipped it back, paid for breakfast and went my wary way…

2 responses to “The more things change, the more they stay the same

  1. The reverse would be ‘Evidence – Solitude’ wouldn’t it? Or ‘Evidence – Solo-Gamer’ 😀

  2. You have a point there– substituting Satan for Faith is perhaps a little less esoteric but consider the audience! Hobos for Family was spontaneous– I guess I was going for the feeling of inclusion a family represents, and Hobos being societal outcasts.