Video

Discworld on Youtube


I’m an off again on again fan of Discworld by the late great Sir Terry Pratchett, who sadly left us last year. One of the problems with living on the right side of the Atlantic Ocean is that you sometimes aren’t in the know about what gets produced for British Television, although that is changing quickly with the advent of BBC America. So I am totally not hip about some cultural artifacts that our British cousins enjoy that we may never hear of. Just yesterday I heard of a few from the realm of Discworld, Terry Pratchett’s universe featuring a flat disc shaped world supported on the backs of four giant elephants on the back of a giant tortoise that sails through space. Do I need to explain this? Of course not. Anyway, apparently there are a few locations where one can find BBC (I expect) adaptions of Discworld novels, for internet viewing. I had no idea this existed, I’m not sure what the limitations are, and I kind of feel bad about sharing it, but shucks, I figure they’ll be shut down soon enough. Let’s party!

GOING POSTAL (TV mini series, 2010, based on the 33rd Discworld novel of the same name)

first of several links.

HOGFATHER the 20th novel in the Discworld series (another mini series, this time by Sky One, aired in 2006 at Christmas time, appropriately).

part 1 of 4.

THE COLOUR OF MAGIC, the first novel in the Discworld series of course! (Another special from Sky One, in 2008)
part 1 of unknown parts.

So, that is what I know of for now. I hear tell there are to animated films floating around in the aetherverse, but they have eluded me so far.

I know what I’ll be bingewatching shortly.

If the links are broken at some point, don’t kvetch. They come and go on Youtube, for obvious reasons.

2 responses to “Discworld on Youtube

  1. Soul Music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRhzClMa7qs&list=PL4WBa7s3RDDCYmKEbR3wTrv8qsBkOqo_l
    Wyrd Sisters: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGKP2vVwcDg
    Live Stage Recording of Guards! Guards! with Paul Darrow as Sam Vimes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_LueUJ05XU

    The Going Postal series was on Sky as well; it was done by the same mob as the Hogfather and Colour of Magic adaptations.

    Upcoming projects include:
    – A six-part adaptation of Good Omens, written by Neil Gaiman
    – A feature film adaptation of The Wee Free Men, written by Rhianna Pratchett
    – A feature film adaptation of Mort, written by Terry Rossio
    – A television series centred on the City Watch