Mordheim Reivers Chili


Another year, another Chili Cookoff, another chance to excel at the culinary arts. This year, I took my entry into a new direction and though I only placed SECOND (snort), I am more than satisfied with the results. Herein is the recipe for MORDHEIM REIVER* Chili!

1 pounds ground beef chuck
1.5 pounds: veal/pork/beef mix for meatloaf (a tad pricier)
1 pound bulk medium heat Italian sausage
1 (15 ounce) can red pinto beans, drained.
2 (15 ounce) cans chili beans in spicy sauce not drained
2 (28 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with juice (I used garlic and herb flavored)
1 large yellow onion, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
2 green chile peppers: Make this a mid-range pepper, not ghosts or habanero — I used two Serrano Peppers, carefully seeded and chopped fine.
3 cubes beef bouillon
1 cup beef broth
1/4 cup chili powder
2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon dried oregano
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 tablespoons hot pepper sauce (I used Texas Pete’s, anything like that will work)
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon white sugar (cuts back on the heat index)

Cook the meat in a large sauce pan, blending it all together in an amorphous meaty nirvana. Remove as much grease as you can, this is a pretty greasy combination and more of it will render out later, trust me on that.

In a slow cooker/crock pot: combine the meat, the beans, tomatoes and green stuff, stir well. Add in the spices and put it on a slow cook for ten hours, stirring well during that period. When finished, the pot will have a skin of grease on it and probably some extra liquid. Skim off as much as you can. This is a wet recipe. Serve hot with Fritos, cheese and other condiments as you see fit. Works great on a chile dog.

The result is a very flavorful chile with a mid-range bite to it.. not too hot but it has a heat element that will last a while.

* I know, you’re taking me to task for naming my chili recipes after GW products, I’m aiming for intentional irony here, people, work with me.

Comments are closed.