Now this is a development that might make me change my mind about GW


If you’ve been reading this blog for a few years now, you’ll have already noticed.. “Misternizz isn’t the biggest Games Workshop fan”.. and you’d be right.  I think they are a gang of bullies, price-fixers and legal thugs.  One of the most popular blog posts I’ve ever written was a statement of my disgust with GW back in 2011, after their latest price hikes and attempts to control distrubution (It still gets a ton of hits).   It’s not a popular viewpoint to have, but that’s life, go have fun with overpriced resin figures if you don’t agree with me.   Frankly, it’s easy to take this stand, so it’s kind of hypocritical.. it’s not like GW really produces a current product that remotely interests me.  I think WH40K and WF are simplistic to the core, kind of stupid and they continue to look “creaky” in the face of modern game design.  (I’m not going to talk about cost here, I’ve covered that elsewhere).  I meant it when I said I said there’s nothing that would tempt me to buy another GW product ever again.

However, even Nixon can go to China.

An intriguing note has been circulating on bulletin boards and websites, allegedly from Games Workshop itself.  See below.

What does this mean?  That the games that actually DO show some design innovation and originality MIGHT ACTUALLY SEE PRINT AGAIN?  Well, sod this.. this is tempting.  I’d love to get Epic and Battlefleet Gothic.  It’s not that I think they are better designed than a lot of products on the market now, or that they would do spectacularly well in the face of competition in their niche from modern products.  There’s a lot more competition now and frankly, from better designed games competing in the same shelf space.

There’s just something so damned cool about those baroque style spaceships in Battlefleet Gothic.. and the giant field crowded with little tiny W40K figures in Epic.
Dang, pretty tempting.  And I know they won’t be reprinted after this while I’m still breathing.  Hmm… rubbing chin.  How easy it is for the Devil to tempt me from the path of righteousness.

MORE INFORMATION HERE: Link

One response to “Now this is a development that might make me change my mind about GW

  1. Pingback: Why I am boycotting Games Workshop stores, and so should YOU. | Third Point of Singularity