Saxon Warband just about done


I took a break from feverish working on HISTORICON projects to base up some SAGA figures for my SAXON Saga army.  I currently have painted:

1 warlord stand
5-7 HG armored mail and shield
9 Warriors mix of sword and spear, some armor
12 peasants using Spears
9 Archers

Here are some pictures

Warlord Stand: Gripping Beast plus unknown standard bearer (flea market figure)

HEARTH GUARD (HG) are elite fighters, deployed in small numbers. I believe I’ll field either 8 or 4 of these. This is a mix of Gripping Beast’s SAXON warband pack and some extras from flea market.

WARRIORS are trained, partly armored men who have been in battles before. Most of these are Gripping Beast
LEVY are peasants whose training consists of knowing which end of the spear is “pointy like”

ARCHERS are something I added on, mostly from Wargames Factory Saxons packs.

I might be able to finish it up with what I have on hand but who knows, any excuse to attend flea market.  My intention is to field a SIX POINT army, so he advised:

  • 3 more archers
  • 1 more hearth guard
    7 more warriors.
Comments are closed.