Revising my game design “Bucket List”


On the right side of the blog in the side column, there is a little text list about outstanding Game Design projects that featuring the following bullets– well, game design in the sense that I might be making up something new, or might use an existing system to I have taken the liberty of editing it a little. This is a very old list, and I think I need to revisit it somewhat, hence this post.

Miniature Games Project List

  • Man to Man 54mm Napoleonic Game: Voltigeurs Vs. Redcoats
  • Spaceport Bar in a 28mm Pulp SF Future: Draco’s Tavern
  • Darkly Humorous Zombie Race Game: Corpse Racing Olympiad in 28mm.
  • Motorcycle Race/Combat game in Dystopian Future 28mm
  • More material for Big Danged Boats (15mm Fantasy Naval) including Magic, new boats, rewrite, new cards
  • More material for the Magi (54mm magical dueling game based on Waving Hands): new cards, new magic users, NPCs, Mirrors, Smoke, etc.
  • SAGA
  • FANTICIDE
  • IN HER MAJESTY’S NAME
  • VIKING LOOTERS

For starters, I’m striking the Motorcycle Race game off the list. The recent work I’ve been doing with Road Warrior/White Line Fever (scroll down a little to see recent posts) pretty much answers this bullet, with two major changes– I’ve decreased the scale to 20mm from the 28mm scale game I had imagined, and I’ve abandoned the idea of an “endless highway” mechanic– where I kept a rolled up terrain cloth that kept rolling along under the racers, so I could run the game on one table. It’s too complicated– what I’ve done for terrain will work fine. So that’s crossed off right off the bat.

SAGA and VIKING LOOTERS are kind of scratching that same Dark Ages Combat itch for me. So I’m going to combine them into an and/or. I have the cards done for Viking Looters and have a ship done. But I might want to pick up some more specialized “looted” figures to add a little comic relief. That’s going to be tough since I don’t know if they make such stuff any more. As for SAGA, I have a Viking Army ready and will soon have a Saxon Army. That might be it for a while.

FANTICIDE? I’m giving up on it. There just doesn’t seem to be a lot of impetus building behind that game, and if Alien Dungeon isn’t doing anything with it, I’m sure not going to bother. Ditto for In her Majesty’s Name! It’s just not grabbing me.

BDB (Big Danged Boats, my 15mm fantasy boat game): I will probably strike this one out and just keep adding factions and new ships. I think I’ve pretty much accomplished all the points outstanding. I don’t want to make the game a constant search for new complicated chrome to tack on the basic design. So this will be edited a little bit.

The Magi (my Wizard Spellcasting using Hand Gestures game): Sure, this is still good, I’d add writing a more comprehensive spell list with some edits.

Man to Man 54mm Skirmish: It’s funny.. this is maybe .. maybe.. the oldest idea or notion on this list. It might be as old as 20 years, and it’s changed a lot from the scrawlings I put in a notebook way back in the day. I still have that notebook. It was always going to be, and still is, a game of man to man fighting in the Napoleonic era. However, my initial design was heavily influenced by Paddy Griffith’s NAPOLEONIC WARGAMING FOR FUN, with a soupcon of Donald Featherstone. I don’t know if it would hold up with a modern crowd with expectations of immediate fulfillment. So the design has morphed over the years. The GOOD NEWS is that I have the figures done, and based. I can field a company of British riflemen and light infantry mixed, and two companies of French voltigeurs.

Darkly Humorous Zombie Race Game: Corpse Racing Olympiad in 28mm. This was (and is) going to be a “one trick pony” game where the Jockeys are zombies ambling after carts of healthy Victorian children being used as “Zombie bait”. I’m not sure if I was designing this just to shock or what. It dates back to the big zombie gaming fad that is pretty much dying out now. Still, I love the game for its cynicism alone, so I might go through with it. It’s been a while since Amish Rake Fight or Sgt. Slaughter in Bun-Bun Land.

Spaceport Bar in a 28mm Pulp SF Future Draco’s Tavern: This is an acknowledgement of my love for “spaceport bar” stories like Draco’s Tavern, and my love for skirmish games with hidden agendas and plot lines. Like my old Cowboy games. I am using the mostly-[url=]GAFDOZ[/url] huge 28mm/33mm pulpy science fiction figures, of which I have about 23 to 28 of. Not much in the way variety but they don’t really match anything else, so man to man it is. Figures are painted, I just need some good SF terrain for a space bar and other interiors. A set of rules would be nice, I’m thinking of using something from the Howard Whitehouse pantheon.

Other items– well I’d add these:

15mm Science Fiction skirmish game, based loosely on BATTLESUIT. One side painted up.

(Notional) Cold War conflict in 2mm — I’d like to try out HIND COMMANDER.

6mm Science Fiction.. i’m a sucker for crowding a battlefield.

FUTURE TANK (just about done). possibly more Jim Wallman games. I like his approach.

Something with Baron Munchausen.. just kicking an idea round.

The New, revised list will look like this:

  • Man to Man 54mm Napoleonic Game: Voltigeurs Vs. Redcoats
  • Spaceport Bar in a 28mm Pulp SF Future: Draco’s Tavern
  • Darkly Humorous Zombie Race Game: Corpse Racing Olympiad in 28mm.
  • War Rocket, the Pulp Space Combat Game (big news on this one that will have to wait for a future post)
  • Dungeons and Dragons Attack Wing
  • New Ships and Factions for Big Danged Boats (15mm Fantasy Naval)
  • More material for the Magi (54mm magical dueling game based on Waving Hands): new cards, new magic users, NPCs, Mirrors, Smoke, etc.
  • SAGA and VIKING LOOTERS (either one)
  • ALL Quiet on the Martian Front. A great new game I’ve bought into heavily
  • Something with Baron Munchausen
  • Battlesuit-like 15mm SF Battlefield game
  • 6mm SF?
  • Cold War in 2mm?

One thing I’m noticing is that games are coming off of the list more often. Big Danged Boats was another game (like the man to man one) that had been on my list for a decade before 2012. The Magi rode on there for about 7 years as I slowly built up the right figures for it. In the case of the bold faced bullets up above, I don’t have a lot more to do to field a game so you can look forward to more about these games after I execute gaming camp this Summer!

Comments are closed.