Deathmaze (SPI) has been added to Digital Rules


Deathmaze Cover (Click for BGG Listing)

I have added an old favorite of mine from the old SPI days, DEATHMAZE, to the Digital Rules page.  This was a very old tile laying, build a dungeon as you go design presented as a FOLIO style game by SPI (there were four in the Fantasy and SF series, see the Microgames page (above) for more history on that).

Note that this is a conversion of the original games rules text, which can be found online as a somewhat sketchy PDF.  I should know, I believe I created the original a very long time ago when I built a Cyberboard gamebox to play Deathmaze via PBeM.  See the link to BGG (above, click the picture) to download that file if you have an interest in playing via cyberboard.

Note, as well, that I added a “Chapter 11” in SPI Case format, which includes all the information and tables published in the MOVES 51 advanced rules for Deathmaze variant.  I know there’s an old ARES article on Deathmaze out there somewhere, and if it includes new material and I can get it OCR’d somehow, I may add that material to this epub in the future.  (late edit: I tracked that down.  It was a review, not a variant).  For now, it’s fairly complete as is.

Note that the “Section 12” Deathmaze Charts 1 and 2 are a Snapshot of an old excel file I created way back in the 90s to replicate the game charts.  I think it’s reasonably clear but you may need to zoom in.

Original counter scan included.. just for reference. Counters in Epubs are a bit of a waste of time.

To actually play the game using this epub file, you’ll need to print out some Dungeon Tiles  on a color printer somewhere, or have the original set handy.  No need to reinvent the wheel here.  There are some nice sets available on the Boardgamegeek page for Deathmaze.  Click the picture above to visit that page.  You might also need to print out counters for the monsters (or use 10mm or 6mm miniatures from various vendors) to represent the monsters and party of adventurers.  There are new counters on Boardgamegeek, click the cover graphic above.

If you don’t feel like printing anything, you can try playing it with Cyberboard.  I made that module years ago and I can tell you it uses the original SPI images, somewhat modified.  So take it with a grain of salt.

I favor these, since you can print them sized to have a tiny miniature dungeon party to explore in them:

FILES: as always, find the EPUB file in the DIGITAL RULES page, under Commercial Game, Out of Print.

Enjoy.

Comments are closed.