LEGO (TM) BrickFair 2014, Chantilly, VA .. AAR



Well, I have to say I have encountered a group that is nerdier than I am. If you think that miniatures conventions attract a lot of geeks with disposable incomes, LEGO Brick Fairs are another thing altogether. I know LEGO is a big, burgeoning hobby, I just had no idea how complex it all until I went to my very first “Brick Fair” at the Dulles Convention Center in Chantilly. WOW. The crowds were astonishing. The line snaked AROUND THE BUILDING and out into the parking lot. The builds were great (many of them anyway) and the vendors were out of sight price-wise. I love the new historical and SF/Fantasy line vendors that have cropped up, but the prices are more than I can afford. I’d love to do a historical wargame with LEGO for fun some time, but I’m not sure I want to pay 100 plus dollars for a dozen troops. Not much of a game.

CLICK ME TO SEE A SLIDE SHOW OF ALL THE COOL HISTORICAL LEGO STUFF I SAW AT BRICKFAIR 2014

Still, it’s astonishing to spend time at one of these things. The level of detail that goes into a LEGO diorama of would put the average miniature painter to shame.

Here’s a little youtube of the days events:

 

Comments are closed.