Gameopolis Podcast: Farewell to Jeff. Sad tidings


Obit.
As I’ve stated on this blog in the annual podcast review (twice), one of my favorite, if not top favorite gaming podcasts is GAMEOPOLIS.  I have always enjoyed the candor, the humor and the witty observations made by both podcasters, Mark and Jeff, both of whom are from an age where many of their favorites were favorites of mine from a bygone era– Titan, Car Wars, Battletech, etc.

I don’t subscribe to any podcasts via Itunes, mostly because I don’t listen to them on a regular basis.  So I have missed some of the shorter podcasts here and there, like Gameopolis’ “car casts”.  They just looked like filler.  Unfortunately my cherry-picking listening habits created a situation where I totally missed something vitally important about this show.

Back in July of 2013, Jeff made a short “message from Jeff” announcement that was carried in the feed.  I didn’t download it, I figured it was an announcement about a delay or something like that.  Sadly, it was terrible news.  Jeff has been battling cancer for the last three years, and it had clearly taken a turn for the worst.  The doctors had exhausted their options and Jeff did not have a lot of time left.

July 2013: http://traffic.libsyn.com/gameopolis/Message_from_Jeff_July2013.mp3″

As I said above, I blithely didn’t realize the impact of that message, as I don’t subscribe.

Today, I was wondering if Gameopolis had done at least a smaller “session report” podcast after its last full length episode in the past month. It had, but on top of that was a short “Message from Mark”. This time it clicked. Uh oh.. message from Jeff, Message from Mark.. I had better download and listen. In what must have been a very emotionally draining Message from Mark episode (October 2013), Mark revealed that Jeff had passed away, a victim of cancer.

October: http://traffic.libsyn.com/gameopolis/Message_from_Mark_2013-10-28.mp3″

I’m glad they warned me at the beginning to not listen when I was driving. It’s odd how you connect with someone over the years. I’ve never met Mark or Jeff, never even communicated with them beyond a few encouraging emails now and then, letting them (Jeff, mostly) know that I was listening and really enjoying their show. And yet, Jeff’s departure leaves a little hole in the world.. a sadness that will heal in time, I’m sure, but right now it’s a very sad day indeed. So with prayers for Jeff’s friends and family, we say goodbye to a gentle soul, a great podcaster, and geek extraordinaire, Jeff. Funny. I didn’t even know his last name, and I’m all choked up now.

Mark is putting the show on hiatus while he considers his next moves. I hope to see him back in the world of podcasting in some fashion, even thought it will not be the same without Jeff.. that doesn’t mean it can’t be very good or even better, but it won’t be the same. Good luck to Mark, and my sincere sympathy and condolences to Jeff’s friends and family, even if they are getting it late.

Comments are closed.