X-Wing Customizable Magnetic / Pivoting Flight Stand


A very cool post on Pen and Lead about Customizable Magnetic/Pivoting Flight stands. Being able to demonstrate an angled curved turn really adds a certain visual something to X-WIng Miniatures games.

Pen and Lead

So, like so many other people, I purchased Fantasy Flight’s new X-Wing miniatures game and purchased all of the expansions thus far.  I am of course, waiting on the new expansions coming out soon.

When playing the game, I wanted a little bit more dynamic “pose” to the ships, and being familiar with flight stands that allow you to rotate and change the pitch and yaw of the mini, I thought I could make my own.   I posted a short video at the end of this post of the finished product.

I made a trip to our local Wal-Mart and purchased some BBs in the air gun section as well as some pellets.  You have to find the right type that are attracted to magnets.  The BBs you see in the image are steel while the pellets I bought aren’t attracted to magnets, so they are useless.

So, what…

View original post 298 more words

Comments are closed.