Legions of Steel, back from the Past.


I’m familiar with LEGIONS OF STEEL by the Global Games Company. It was published in the early 90s and had a dedicated, almost fanatical following, mostly in Europe, but it was played a lot here in the States, too. My good friend Steve Gibson, routinely runs gigantic Legions of Steel games at the GENCON gaming convention, usually with 20 or more people playing. HERE he is running “Bug Hunt” back in 2009. He considers a flea market trip well spent if he can get his hands on somebody’s old LoS collection. Heck, I even have a copy of the basic blue box set, myself, but never did anything with it.

The “Blue Box”. I have one downstairs in the basement.

The premise of the game is very much similar to SPACE HULK or SPACE CRUSADE. The humans are a squad of super soldiers from “UNE“, a peacekeeping force invading a robotic complex housing the Machines. The Machines have a horde of man-sized robot soldiers to throw at the invading UNE unit called “Fiends”. Like Space Hulk and other tile map games, the humans have imperfect intelligence and don’t really know where the threat is coming from until it shows up. Mechanics were very simple, as I recall, and a lot easier and faster to resolve than the other two Build your Own Space Crawl games. I liked it, but when you have a friend who has a set all painted up and who has spent so much time and energy working on it, one has no resolve to paint his own LoS miniatures. 😀

With that said, I usually don’t do a lot of Kickstart testimonials on this blog. Why not? Because I get a ton of requests and it’s hard to be fair to everyone, even the guy who wanted me to endorse his new poker game on Kickstarter (Hah! Good luck to you, sir!). Stilllll, every now and then I can unbend a little. I got this in the mail from an outfit called “Studio Nyx” recently:

My name is Romain Soulie, I am a video game producer. I just wanted to inform you about the crowdfunding campaign our team will launch tonight. We want to produce the digital adaptation of an old board game licence, and I thought the combination of wargame, miniatures and Kickstarter may catch your interest.

We are adapting Legions of Steel on Android, IOS and PC platforms. This is a miniatures wargame released at the beginning of the 90s, and we believe it would be a great fit on smartphones and tablets. Our version will be a faithful adaptation with an asynchronous multiplayer mode, in a bird-view fashion.

Do not hesitate to contact me if you are interested in knowing more about our project. I also invite you to visit our website and social network pages.

(I cut out the flattery bits, I know when I’m being played)

So I visited the Kickstarter page, and I actually like where they are going with this thing. They appear to be making a cross platform release of an arcade game that plays like a Legions of Steel game. With Android and IoS releases. Not bad at all. Honestly, the dungeon crawl style experience rapidly bores me on an Ipad– dunno what it is, but haven’t felt compelled to play Warhammer Quest all the way through to the end, and I”m not sure this game will grab me or not.. but I will probably try it nonetheless.  I like what they are doing with the interface.

Here’s the Kickstarter video:

And the Kickstarter Page itself is here: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/nyxsquad/legions-of-steel-the-video-game

If it’s not incredibly exorbitant, I just might give this a try.

Other links:

Legions of Steel Forum

Comments are closed.