The Great War Against the Cthonians


Okay, it’s just a notion, but I’ve been wrapping my head around what to do with my (expensive) Leviathans sets ever since trying to play the rules they published. In addition to that I have some odd bits laying around the basement, purchased here and there over time, like some monsterpocalypse pieces, and some Pico Armor, and some old unpainted Dystopian Wars armor sets… and it hit that all this stuff could coalesce nicely as they are roughly in scale with each other. What really convinced me was this event at HISTORICON 2013:

A nice repurposing of Leviathans

Note the 3mm scale armor, use of Dystopian Legions sparingly, and Trench like terrain. It’s a steampunk WWI!

The infantry supported by a deployed artillery unit

Honestly, I forget what this was called. I did like the reuse of several different gaming bits, like Leviathans, Risk Pieces, and Dystopian Legions units. I LOVE the WWI “trench” feel to the terrain. Perfect.

So, I got to thinking.. I don’t want to remake that game exactly, but a game where brave humanity fights a threat from below?  What if the general rising of Cthulhu actually happened– as is often threatened in the works of Messrs Lovecraft, Derleth et al but never actually comes to pass?  The books refer to the event as the end of mankind, but surely we’d make a better fight of it than that?

So here’s the plan..

Cthonian Side: The word CTHONIAN means “of or pertaining to the deities, spirits, and other beings dwelling under the earth.”  I want a good catchall phrase for “An army of creepy tentacly squamous monsters in roughly 1:600 scale”.  For that, my main players are going to be the lower end units, which I’m mostly recruiting from Monsterpocalypse.  I picture them as being somewhat ill disciplined, with higher level monsters called Overseers keeping them in line.  There will be some much larger Cthonian units as onesie and twosie figures.

Sources:

CTHONIANS:

Mounted on flying stands and overlaid with a shade of nauseating green? Voila, Cthonian airial units– anachronism be damned!

I have to have something to face the Levianthans with after all.

An actual Shuggoth from CP Models UK:

Small Shuggoth, from the same source

More Flyers from CP Models

The Shambler, same source

Depending on how big these are, they’d make great Overseers. Same source, CP Models

Of course, there are several candidates from Monsterpocalypse:

Yasheth: from the RISE set

Cthugrosh, roughly the same size

The Humble Spitter Grunt. He’s a grunt in MY army, too.

The Tanglix can make a great Overseer unit.

Ultra Ancient Osheroth. Love what you’ve done with your tentacles!

Task Master. Another great Overseer unit.

Ulgoth from I chomp NY set.

There are many more Monsterpocalypse units, you get the idea.

Khurasan’s Magellenic Nomad looks like a possibility, as well.

HUMANS:

It’s a shorter list.

Selected Dystopian Legions Armor units.   I have some of these already, and might pick up a few of their mechanical walking men as well.

Pico Armor Mark V tanks:

I have five packs already.

Infantry Stands from Tumbling Dice/Odzial Osmy’s “Universal Items” list.

So, putting some of that together, and I’m fairly pleased with what I’m looking at here.

Infantry Brigade with organic Artillery Support (center) and two armored Companies on Flanks tackling a Single and a Quadruple unit of Tanglers, flanked by a double unit of Shivering Horrors.  Behind them is an Overseer, flailing his tentacles to good effect.

Infantry Brigade with organic Artillery Support (center) and two armored Companies on Flanks tackling a Single and a Quadruple unit of Tanglers, flanked by a double unit of Shivering Horrors. Behind them is an Overseer, flailing his tentacles to good effect.

Great Cthonian War

Another shot of this confrontation. Queens own Hussar’s company attacks a Double Unit of Shivering Horrors. Cthonians round bases, Humans square bases.

I’m not sure when this will finish up, or what rules I will use. Something home grown for sure. It wont’ get done quickly since I’m going to have to troll the flea markets to get some decent figures. Possibly in 2014 some time….

5 responses to “The Great War Against the Cthonians

  1. I’d be sorely tempted to use GW’s last version of Epic 40K rules. The Tyranids and/or Chaos have a lot in common with the Cthonian troop types you are considering, and the Imperial Guard would match up with the humans. Add in a few special flyers and you’d be set.

  2. Sorry, it seams that they never unpdated them “officially” for this edition. Apparently there are a LOT of unofficial/semi-official lists for them. I think a lot of people liked the last edition of the Epic rules, though they may not be your cup of tea. Perhaps the flavor others like is in the armies themselves?