Image

First, a Polaris Submarine, now, a Browning Machine gun! From the the back of the comic book to you!


First, a Polaris Submarine, now, a Browning Machine gun! From the the back of the comic book to you!

One of my most visited posts is the one about the Polaris Submarine from the back of comic books. I had a helpful reader remind me about this little wonder– the Automatic Firing Tripod Machine Gun! Modeled after the water cooled .30 caliber Browning, apparently! And for sale from the back of a comic book for less than two big ones, back in the 60s and 70s. This ad was more rare than the submarine or tank ads, but I remember seeing it now and again way back in the day. If only I had grasped the potential of heavy weaponry back in my childhood.. tanks, subs and machine guns. I could have taken over a small central American country with my Comic Book Arsenal. The reality is that it was some form of rapid fire B.B. Gun.  I’m still looking for a picture of the actual item. Click on the picture for more.

Comments are closed.