Ten Years of Convention Reports


Sidebar-3PoS-ConsI’ve been blogging, for better or worse, since late 2004.  During that time, I’ve been a steady attendee of conventions, and most of them have been conventions put on by the Historical Miniature Gaming Society (HMGS), but also some smaller local cons here and there.  I have always done a long or short commentary of the conventions I attend– sometimes a short 1 page post, sometimes multi-part postings with lots of internet media hosting.    After posting the latest Cold Wars AAR, it struck me that I have a sizable collection of posts on the subject of gaming conventions; I have created a history (of sorts) over the years.  Mind you, it’s a very chatty  and gossipy history, with the elements that amused me personally over the years.  I admit it, my sense of humor has ofttimes been described as “quirky” over the years, so fair warning.  In any event, to see all these AARs in one place, there is a collection of blog links on the left hand column of Third Point of Singularity.  See the graphic.

I have to warn you in advance, some of the earliest posts have link and picture references that are no longer online; there’s not much I can do about that.  Many of those pictures are simply lost when the free picture host they were hosted upon went bust.  Also, my writing style has evolved over the years; I notice that they grew fairly wordy there in the middle of the 2000s and now are far more succinct (but feature more media bits.. I’m not sure if that’s an improvement or not).  As always, my opinions are my own, and do not reflect those of any organization or club.

With that said, if you want a sort of window on gaming conventions, and more specifically, HMGS conventions over a ten year period, help yourself.

Comments are closed.