Thumbs down!


Image

H.L. Mencken says: “Bite Me.”

As part of my Williamsburg convention experience for the February muster, Gar and I put on a test game called THE BATTLE OF THE STEAM PLUME, which features an Uncharted Seas game taking place near a live volcano that was shooting dollops of lava into the ocean from time to time.  If you read this blog regular-like, you’ll know that I indulge in a little bloviation and narration of conventions I attend, under the heading of AARs (After Action Reports).  I wrote one up for the Uncharted Seas game and was very fortunate to get several great photos from Dewey LaRochelle that I included in as a slideshow and as a video (of still images) which I posted to my Youtube account.

Yesterday, I get this response from “battlemind77”:

Sorry man – badly painted models, an ugly table and no narration or story. I have to give this a thumbs down.

I was a bit floored by this discourtesy.  I don’t live or die by Youtube ratings and it doesn’t bother me at all that this chimp dislikes something I do.  But the comment.. to accentuate being nasty about it, seemed over the top.   People put their heart and soul into games.  I know I certainly do.  And some of us are awful painters. I don’t think the scenery was that bad, and we were playing for fun.  I certainly think the players had a good time, and isn’t that what it’s all about?

I tried to come up with a witty rejoinder worthy of a latter-day Twain, Bierce or Mencken, and I think I hit upon exactly the right tone:

jeez, what an asshole.

I know, that may be too esoteric for my readership, and for that, I apologize.  I try to keep a polite tone in these posts.  (grinning)

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “Thumbs down!

  1. How could any educated person object to a AAR featuring music from Le Nozze di Figaro?

    Good work.

  2. Dewey LaRochelle

    The world is a critic. YouTube and the like lets everyone’s inner a-hole come out in a safe place. He probably is just jealous.