Aside

Victory of Eagles, by Naomi Novik


Victory of Eagles (Temeraire, #5)Victory of Eagles by Naomi Novik
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Full disclosure, I read Books 1-4 in the series and enjoyed them immensely, though I wish the series had stayed geographically in Europe and fighting Napoleon’s First Empire, because I’m a bit of a history buff.

A victory of Eagles did not grab me as the other four had. We are treated to Temeraire as a lead character for much of the book, which I rather liked. I also liked how the dragon is developing wisdom about dealing with human beings. The plot, however that is getting .. I don’t know, too “pat”, maybe. The British high command just seems way too pig headed about the subject of Lawrence’s treason and the value of Dragons in combined arms. Almost as this was added just to move the story forward.

The general tone of the story was of defeat and despair. It was difficult to get behind the story with the same enthusiasm I had for the earlier books. I’ll probably give the next one a try, but I’m not as kneejerk about reading these stories as I was when the first one came out.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.