Aside

And more of What I’m Reading Now…


The Robert E. Howard ReaderThe Robert E. Howard Reader by Robert E. Howard

Just picked this up at Balticon last weekend. Consists of several essays on Robert E. Howard (of Conan fame), basically rehashing the sentiment: “We should have taken this guy more seriously when he was alive, he would have been greatly respected had he lasted a little longer” and “history short-changed Howard, he was far more skilled than he is given credit”. There’s a lot of Same-old, Same-old here, but I’m enjoying the older essays by Leiber and De Camp quite a bit. Darrell Schweitzer can do literary criticism and editor chores fairly well. I have an old chapbook entitled “Discovering H.P. Lovecraft” that he did a yeoman’s job on. I think I like the earlier one better but this is a decent read so far.

View all my reviews

Comments are closed.