My Pulp Science Fiction Project: Draco’s Tavern


As I’ve mentioned in the past, I love pulp Science Fiction as a genre and have always wanted to run a pulp SF game, given time and a decent set of rules. Or I’d write my own, no matter. There have been some decent figures now and then over the years but nothing in sufficient depth to float my boat, until recently. I discovered Killer B Games’ GAFDOZ series back in 2009 and started buying individual figures. There’s about 40 of them out in the series as a whole, more or less, although some of them are in groups of figures– like the Lost Legion, Kappa Drones, and Murphidian Miners. I have resisted buying multiples of groups of Gafdoz types, not just because they are very pricey but also I don’t intend to create military units with this stuff.. it’s going to be a man to man game with these figures or nothing at all. Too much variation, not enough depth to do anything but that for the time being. That’s okay. I love the whimsical look and feel of GAFDOZ, and a man to man level game should be a blast in a real corny “space bar” setting. I will be naming this DRACO’S TAVERN after the collection of short stories by Larry Niven which feature the action that takes place at Draco’s Tavern, a location where people of all races congregate and (sometime) come to blows. I think this will be a lot of fun.

At the recent Cold Wars, I picked up some of my GAFDOZ figures from a guy who paints for me on occasion, Mr. John Montrie.  I think he did a fantastic job on them and it’s time to show them off.

Pulp SF figures

"The Good Guys", mostly..

Pulp SF figures

The "Bad Guys", mostly

This is only a start.. I think there will be more Gafdoz and other retro-looking pulp figures in my future.

Comments are closed.