Follow-up: OGRE Miniatures with Legos are very cool.


While reading up on “new” OGRE on Boardgamegeek for the previous post, I found a little snippet from Dave J McWeasely (aka “Mr. Weasley” on BGG).  He had made a whole series of little OGRE miniatures using common LEGO bricks. 

OGRE LEGO Minis
All the small fry from OGRE/GEV

Needless to say, I was impressed.. the little tanks and missile launchers are just.. so darned cute, it’s hard to resist the notion of making a LEGO OGRE game myself.   I noticed Mr. McWeasley didn’t make the main attractions, the OGREs themselves, but this was easily fixed by investigating with Google.  Mr. Daniel Efran has his own page on the subject, LEGO OGRE, where he makes giant cybertanks in Lego.  He tried to make small boys as well.  I have to admit I prefer Mr. McWeasley’s smaller units and obviouly Mr. Efran’s monster OGRES  kick major butt.

Two OGRE MK IIIs face off
Two OGRE MK IIIs face off

I’ve prepped a visual survey of what can be found in both places.  Visual credit is for David McWeasley for all small units except for the Command Post.  Daniel Efran made all the OGREs and the Command Post.

What a charming use for all those LEGO bricks.  Having a LEGO geek in the family, perhaps I can direct him to make these for me.

Related:

LEGO OGRE
“Lego Miniatures” Forum post by “Mister Weasley” on Boardgamegeek

One comment

Comments are closed.