Olicanalad’s Galleys


I’ve always enjoyed a niche subject of historical interest, Ancient Greek and Roman galley warfare in the Mediterranean. Well, really, any kind of naval warfare with big, lumbering oared ships. I think that slave galley scene in BEN HUR must have had an impact on me when I was a kid. I like wargames that feature galley warfare as well– I just wish I had a chance to play them more. I have a couple of NAVWAR’s Fleet Starter Packs that I have painted up and based for the game RAM SPEED by Metagaming. Ram Speed adapts well to miniatures with very little conversion. What a pity, I’ve only had this out and on the table a few times.

“Olicanalad” is on a yahoo group dedicated to Galley Warfare I started years ago called war_galley. He is clearly a fellow enthusiast of the time period– as his recent pictures of a galley battle attest to. Olicanalad is using Xyston 1:600 ships here; this is the same scale (roughly) as the Uncharted Seas game I have been playing lately. 1:600 is a great scale for detail and lovely ship models, and Xyston does a wonderful job on them.

Picture from Olicanalad's recent game.

Picture from Olicanalad's recent game.

Click on the picture to get transported to “Contemplating my naval” on Olicanalad’s gaming blog.

Comments are closed.